Kappa Alpha Psi

The San Diego (CA) Alumni Chapter (W) of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., held its 27th Annual LtCol Clancy Davis, USMC (Ret) and Bobby Hatcher Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament on Saturday, June 7, 2014, at Admiral Baker Golf Course. The proceeds from this event funds scholarships to graduating seniors of San Diego County High Schools that will attend four year colleges and universities in the fall. Additionally, proceeds also help fund the Kappa Instructional League (Kappa League) Program which currently has seven young high school aged men as members.

DSC_0109 copy  DSC_0108 copy

Eighty Golfers participated in the tournament this year. The winning team was composed of Danny Walker, Rickey Hereford, Derrick Williams and Cedric Wilson. The second place team consisted of Robert Walton, Dr. Victor Crawford, Russ Johnston, and Carl Rustin; while Bernard Cooper, John Scharpf, Michael Millsap and Greg Knoll won third place. There were also winners for the Longest Drives and Closest to the Pin.

After the Golf tournament; lunch was served in the Adm. Clubhouse and Four of the Scholarship winners (and their parents) for 2014 were introduced to the assembled patrons. Dr. Aaron Bruce, Scholarship Committee Chairman introduced each recipient; who then addressed the group. Each young man gave information about his high school, college of attendance for the fall and what his prospective college major would be. The scholarship recipients were Ayman Mayberry ($1,000) received the James O. Whaley Scholarship, Kyle Brito ($1,000) received the Bert Ritchey, Esq. Scholarship, Osman Yusuf ($1,000) received the Preston Kelly Scholarship, and Winkfield Twyman, III, ($500) received the Roy E. Logan Scholarship. Terence Ellis, (not in attendance) an undergraduate member of Kappa Alpha Psi (attending SDSU) received the Judge Napoleon A. Jones, Jr. Scholarship.

Members_of_Kappa_Alpha_Psi copy

The Golf Committee was Co-Chaired by Jeff Brown, III and Samuel Knight. Golf Committee members included Earl Hines, Daryl Forbes, Rickey Hereford, Mark Gunn, Dejuan Lewis and Freeman Hayes. The Scholarship Committee was chaired by Dr. Aaron Bruce and included Daryl Forbes, Jackie Mitchell and Ernest Clayton. The President of the San Diego Alumni Chapter is Aaron English.

For additional information please contact Samuel Knight @ sbknight1973@gmail.com or 619-252-0068

Photography Courtesy of Kappa Alpha Psi

About The Author

Related Posts