Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. San Diego Alumnae Chapter hosts Silver Anniversary Breakfast for MiLady “A Tribute to Mothers”


By Brandon Johnson
Contributing Writer

Breakfast for MiLady, “A Tribute to Mothers” Silver Anniversary was held at the Doubletree Hotel (Mission Valley) on Saturday, May 10, 2014, to honor 22 phenomenal mothers who were chosen from various churches and organizations in the greater San Diego County to be honored for their contributions to their families and community. There were over 300 people in attendance. Entertainment was provided by Sebrina Barnes (Pasadena Alumnae Chapter), Corina Lard (Senior Leadership Development Intern) Brian Matthews, DJ. Cynthia James-Price was the Mistress of Ceremonies for the morning.

IMG_3172 copy

The 22 honorees for 2014 were as follows: [1]Felicia F. Baker, Neighborhood House Association; [2] Dr. Ray Boganey, Kaiser Permanente, San Diego; [3] Pamela L. Bradford, Esq., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., North San Diego County Alumnae Chapter; [4] Tamiko (Tammy) Maria Clay, New Seasons Church; [5] Clara Y. Davis, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Phi Omicron Chapter; [6] Virginia K. Davis, Women, Incorporated; [7] Shantee’ Denise Downer, KOE Medical Consulting , Inc.; [8] Ruby Wheeler Ford, Family and Friends of Ruby Ford; [9] Antonique (Tony) Foster, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., San Diego Alumni Chapter; [10] Rosey Iheme, National Council of Negro Women; [11] Pamela King, The National Sorority of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc., Delta Upsilon Chapter;[12] Brenda L. Major, Christ United Presbyterian Church, Presbyterian Women; [13] Heather Y. Martin, Door of Hope Christian Church; [14] Frances McCord, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Zeta Sigma Lambda Chapter; [15] Alta McIllwaine, Top/Cat Hatters-Red Hat Society; [16] Rachelle Lynn Owens, New Life Baptist Church; [17] Leonie Porcher-Sanders, Jack and Jill of America, Inc., San Diego Chapter; [18] Mary Louise Scales, Lambda Kappa Mu Sorority, Inc., Alpha Gamma Chapter; [19] Kamilah Asha Averyhart Terrell, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., San Diego Alumnae Chapter; [20] Dr. Dorothy Vails-Weber, Bethel AME Memorial Church , Missionary Society; [21] Arika Jelaye Wells, Alpha Kappa Sorority, Inc., Epsilon Xi Omega Chapter and [22] Marie Wright-Travis, Jack and Jill of America, Inc., North County Chapter. Our two centenarians were Mrs. Effie Primas, Bethel Baptist Church, and Soror Lorraine Gholston, Charter member and first president of San Diego Alumnae Chapter. The Honorable Shirley N. Weber, California State Assemblymember, 79th District was presented the Silver Community Recognition Award. The president of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., San Diego Alumnae Chapter is Monica Honore’ and the Chairperson for this event was Joyce M. Kercheval, Co- Chairpersons, Billie J. Greene and LaShonda Reed Jones and Chairperson, 2nd Vice President, Fund Development, Kea L. Hagan. The money from this event is to benefit scholarships and programs for students in the community.

Looking forward to seeing all of you on May 9, 2015.

Photos by Brandon Johnson:

Unlike many news organizations, Voice & Viewpoint delivers content that matters to you. Help us keep it that way by making a generous donation for as low as $2. Your support will fund local, investigative journalism for the community, by the community.